FABBS and FABBS Foundation Leaders Win APA Awards

Morton Ann Gernsbacher, PhD, FABBS Foundation President, and Philip E. Rubin, PhD, Member-at-Large on the FABBS Executive Committee, were among the scientists honored at the American Psychological Association’s 6th Annual Science Leadership Conference.

Dr. Gernsbacher received the Award for Distinguished Service to Psychological Science which “recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to psychological science through their commitment to a culture of service.” Other recipients were Mark I. Applebaum (Professor at UC San Diego and former member of the Federation/FABBS Executive Committee), and John W. Hagen (Professor, University of Michigan).

Morton Ann Gernsbacher

M_Gernsbacher.jpgFor her record of extraordinary serice and leadership in psychological science. Morton Ann Gernsbacher’s service to psychology has been broad and significant. She has been elected to major positions in several of the major organizations of psychological science. She was President of the Association for Psychological Science (APS), served on the governing board of the Psychonomic Society, was chair of APA’s Board of Scientific Affairs, and is President of the FABBS Foundation. Dr. Gernsbacher has served on other boards and committees of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Cognitive science Society, the Midwestern Psychological Association, APA, and APS. She was editor of Memory and Cognition and co-editor of Psychological Science in the Public Interest and served on grant review panels for the National Institutes of Health and the Department of Defense. She has appeared in the media to educate the public about psychological science and has been actively engaged in bringing psychological science to bear on public policy at both the state and federal levels. Dr. Gernsbacher’s tireless contributions to psychology clearly demonstrate her passion and devotion to the profession and to a culture of service.

Learn more about Dr. Gernsbacher and her lab »

A Meritorious Research Service Commendation was awarded to Dr. Rubin. The award “recognizes outstanding psychologists who help foster the discipline of psychological science through their programmatic activities as staff of the federal government or other organizations.” Also receiving this award were W. Rodney Hammond (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), C. Tracy Orleans (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation), and Nancy M. Ostrove (Food and Drug Administration).

Philip Rubin

P_Rubin.jpg“In recognition of your outstanding contributions to psychological science through your service as a leader in research management and policy development at the national level.”

Learn more about Dr. Rubin and his lab »