National Academy of Science Awards Inaugural Prizes in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences

January 21, 2014

by Chris Cameron

Former president of FABBS, James L. McClelland, is one of two inaugural recipients of the National Academy of Sciences Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences. McClelland is the Lucie Stern Professor in the Social Sciences and Director, Center for Mind, Brain, and Computation at Stanford University. He is being honored for his “role in formulating computational models to demonstrate the spread of activation through brain networks.” McClelland’s work has significantly influenced progress in the field of enhanced machine methods for perceiving patterns in language and visual scenes.

Also honored is Elizabeth Shilin Spelke, the Marshall L. Berkman Professor of Psychology at Harvard University, for her “outstanding work on the representation of number and of the physical and social world in the minds of infants, children, and adults.”

McClelland and Spelke will be formally honored during the National Academy of Sciences’ meeting in April. Included with the award is a $200,000 prize funded through a generous donation by Richard C. Atkinson.